Aluminium

European standards for aluminum products

The European aluminum products

The range of aluminum products, its properties and its quality requirements are constantly expanding. Manufacturers of aluminum products want to be sure, they produce and deliver exactly the products, that customers want, and which meets their.

It's been two decades, since the European Union have been introduced European standards for aluminum products, which replaced the largely outdated national standards, including well-known standard DIN and BS. In these European standards have been taken into account as much as possible the increased capabilities of the aluminum industry and also increased market demand of aluminum products.

The list of European standards for aluminum products consists of more 120 items! One can doubt whether this very “European approach” – the introduction of common European standards – actually brought simplification and convenience to the standardization of products of the European aluminum industry.. Nonetheless, reputedly, this is true. European standards for aluminum products have a high degree of transparency and make it perfectly clear in the relationship between the manufacturer and the customer.

Each contract – reference to standards

often, that the customers of aluminum products are small companies, who are not familiar with the "aluminum" standards. They just fit in their orders the, what they want without any references to European standards. In this case, the supplier must include references to standards in the contract or in the written order confirmation. It gives both sides the necessary basis for negotiations in the case of, if the customer is not satisfied with the delivered product.

aluminum terminology

The cause of complaints and complaints with significant financial consequences are often confusion and misunderstandings, special, if the correspondence used for the supply of non-native language for the customer. Therefore, it is important to apply the common terminology as defined, which are given in European standards.

Market many aluminum products and semi-finished products is global and includes a global means of communication between stakeholders, for example, supplier and customer. they often speak different native languages, but in this case most of the time used for their "foreign" correspondence English.

The aluminum industry uses many technical terms, that can not be found in dictionaries. Some of them are collected in European or North American standards. However, often they are used for different things, that not infrequently leads to misunderstandings and errors. Therefore, even the most experienced translator will be at a loss when trying to adequately translate materials "Aluminum" contract, especially the technical requirements for the specific aluminum products.

This problem is partially solves the document, which gives all the terms and definitions, trade-related aluminum products. Это – GAG Guidance Document 001 “Terms and Definition”, abbreviated - GAG 001. He is the source of terms and definitions, which are used or will be used in Aluminum Standards.

The use of identical terms and definitions in the standards of different countries and even continents, It allows for more precise application of these standards at the order and delivery of aluminum products with a minimum of confusion.

The terms in this document are grouped by different product areas:

  • production,
  • sampling and testing,
  • characteristics of products and
  • various types of non-compliance of quality requirements, i.e, simply put, marriage.

All of these terms are included in one document, and Internet search engines can easily find it in each term separately.

European standards aluminum products - this is, primarily, standards for general-purpose products. There are also standards for special aluminum products, for example, packaging in the food industry or pressure vessels.

Aluminum products, general purpose generally has a sheet shape, plate, foil, tight / rods, tubes, profiles or wire. For each of these forms issued European Standards "general purpose" and each of them consists of several parts, eg:

  • Sheets and plates: from EN 485-1 до AND 485-4.
  • Rods / rod, and pipe profiles: from EN 754-1 до AND 754-8 (pulled) and from EN 755-1 до AND 755-9 (extruded).
  • Foil: from EN 546-1 до AND 546-4.
  • Drawn wire: from EN 1301-1 до AND 1301-3.

The structure of the standard for aluminum products

Part 1 Each standard contains technical control and delivery conditions, which indicate:

  • what information should be included in the "order form", ie a document or set of documents, which the supplier and the customer agree upon when ordering a batch of products;
  • what are the requirements for the product (including references to other parts of the standards);
  • how the manufacturer should make and test the product;
  • as the products must be shipped, and what information should be provided to the customer;
  • as, in case of need, will be the resolution of disputes.

Part 2 Each standard defines the mechanical properties of these alloys and conditions, and the next part of the set tolerances on shape and dimensions, and in some cases - the requirements for additional properties.

customers, who need a small amount of standard products, buy them from wholesalers. Wholesalers order products directly from the manufacturer in accordance with relevant European standards. By proper control of technology and organization of production, as well as the required amount of product testing, The manufacturer builds confidence, that the properties of the products are in accordance with the requirements of the relevant standards. customers, that these standard products are needed in large quantities, buy them directly from the manufacturer.

Sometimes the demands of some customers to aluminum products are more stringent, than those, which are set out in the European standards. They may also be additional requirements., which tighten standards. In such cases, products are usually ordered in accordance with European standards., but include additional requirements in the contract or order. In most cases, such special requirements apply to a limited number of properties and tests.. In this case, a reference to a specific European standard means, that for all properties, test methods and delivery conditions, which are not specified in the special requirements of the contract or order, the requirements of this standard apply.

Special requirements for aluminum products

Special Application

Special requirements for aluminum products usually apply to products of a special application.. Therefore, a special group of European standards has been created for these applications:

  • for food aluminum,
  • for pressure vessels,
  • for railway cars,
  • for marine shipbuilding,
  • for electrical products,
  • for packaging and
  • for load-bearing building structures.

Special aluminum alloys

These standards recommend special alloys for their respective applications., as well as additional or more stringent mechanical requirements, dimensional tolerances and other properties.

In many cases, the standard for specialty products unifies additional requirements., which are necessary for this type of product. This reduces the cost of manufacturing and testing this product..

It is the decision and responsibility of the customer: which standard to order aluminum products for special applications - according to general purpose european standard (may be with additional requirements) or according to the European standard for special purposes.

Standards for specialty products are usually developed by large consumers and industry associations..

Examples of special purpose standards are:

  • EN 15006 on aluminum cans for aerosols;
  • EN 2070 for wrought aluminum alloys for the aerospace industry;
  • EN 286-4 on aluminum pressure vessels.

European standard plus contract

for instance, the customer wants to order a sheet with tighter tolerances, than specified in the European standard. He may indicate these special requirements in his order and, Nonetheless, must refer to the European standard for aluminum sheets - EN 485-1. In this case, the requirements of this standard for dimensional tolerances will be replaced by more stringent requirements, which are indicated in the order, and other requirements remain unchanged.

However, probably, it will be difficult for the wholesaler to obtain such special products in small quantities. If this special product is ordered from the manufacturer, then he will produce a separate batch for these special requirements, which will mean higher production costs and, naturally, higher price.

Aluminum products according to specifications

For some aluminum products, for example, sheet for car bodies, there are only a few suppliers and customers. In such cases, specifications are often applied., agreed between manufacturer and customer, and European standards do not apply at all.

European standartisation in the field of aluminium

CEN/TC 132 – ALUMINIUM AND ALUMINIUM ALLOYS

Standardization in the field of unwrought, wrought and cast products made from aluminium and aluminium alloys, particularly: – designations; – terms and definitions; – material specifications; – technical conditions of delivery; – dimensions and tolerances; – methods of testing specific to aluminium.

Sub-Committee

  • CEN/TC 132/WG 1 – Liquid metal, unalloyed and alloyed ingots
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 10 – Castings
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 11 – Slugs for impact extrusion
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 12 – Electro welded tubes
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 14 – General support
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 15 – Aluminium anodisation
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 16 – Aluminium alloys for marine applications (shipbuilding, marine and offshore structure)
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 17 – Chemical analysis
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 18 – Terminology
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 19 – Corrosion
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 2 – Extrusion billets and rolling ingots
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 20 – Scrap
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 21 – Railways applications of aluminium and aluminium alloys
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 22 – Revision of EN 1559-4:1999
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 23 – Revision of EN 1676 and EN 1706
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 3 – Forgings and wrought and cast forging stock
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 4 – Wires and drawing stock
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 5 – Extruded and drawn products
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 6 – Aluminium foil and finstock
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 7 – Sheets, strips and plates
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 8 – Rolled products for cans, closures and lids
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 9 – Aluminium and aluminium alloys cast and wrought products in contact with food

Sources:

  1. How to order aluminium products according to EN standards – GDA / EAA-Guide – 2008
  2. GAG Guidance Document 001 “Terms and Definition”

Aluminium

European standards for aluminum products

Европейская алюминиевая продукция

Номенклатура алюминиевой продукции, ее свойства и требования к ее качеству постоянно расширяются. Производители алюминиевой продукции хотят быть уверенными, что они производят и поставляют именно ту продукцию, которую хотят заказчики и которая их удовлетворяет.

Прошли уже два десятка лет, с тех пор как в Европейском Союзе были введены европейские стандарты на алюминиевую продукцию, которые заменили во многом устаревшие национальные стандарты, том числе знаменитые стандарты DIN и BS. В этих европейских стандартах было максимально учтены возросшие возможности  алюминиевой промышленности и также возросшие требования рынка алюминиевой продукции.

Список европейских стандартов на алюминиевую продукцию состоит из более 120 наименований! Можно засомневаться: принес ли таки  этот самый «европейский подход» — внедрение единых европейских стандартов — на самом деле  упрощение и удобство в стандартизацию продукции европейской алюминиевой промышленности. Тем не менее, по общему мнению, это действительно так. Европейские стандарты на алюминиевую продукцию имеют высокую степень прозрачности и вносят полную ясность в отношения между производителем и заказчиком.

В каждом контракте – ссылки на стандарты

Часто бывает, что заказчики алюминиевой продукции являются малыми компаниями, которые не знакомы с «алюминиевыми» стандартами. Они просто вписывают в свои заказы то, что они хотят без каких-либо ссылок на европейские стандарты. В таком случае поставщик должен включать ссылки на стандарты в контракт или в письменное подтверждение заказа. Это дает обеим сторонам необходимую основу для переговоров в случае, если заказчик будет не удовлетворен поставленной продукцией.

Алюминиевая терминология

Причиной рекламаций и жалоб со значительными финансовыми последствиями часто являются недопонимания и недоразумения, особенно, если в переписке о поставке применялся не родной для заказчика язык. Поэтому важно применять соответствующую единую терминологию согласно определениям, которые даны в европейских стандартах.

Рынок многих алюминиевых изделий и полуфабрикатов является глобальным и включает глобальные средства связи между заинтересованными сторонами, например, поставщиком и заказчиком. Часто они говорят на разных родных языках, но в этом случае в большинстве случаев применяют для своей «заграничной» переписки английский язык.

Алюминиевая промышленность применяет много технических терминов, которые нельзя найти в словарях. Некоторые из них собраны в европейских или североамериканских стандартах. Однако часто они используются для разных понятий, что не редко приводит к недоразумениям и ошибкам. Поэтому даже самый опытный переводчик будет в затруднении при попытке адекватно перевести материалы «алюминиевого» контракта, особенно технические требования к конкретной алюминиевой продукции.

Эту проблему частично решает документ, которые дает все термины и определения, связанные с торговлей алюминиевой продукцией. Это –  GAG Guidance Document 001 “Terms and Definition”, сокращенно – GAG 001. Он является источником терминов и определений, которые используются или будут использоваться в алюминиевых стандартах.

Применение идентичных терминов и определений в стандартах различных стран и даже континентов, дает возможность более точного применения этих стандартов при заказе и поставке алюминиевой продукции при минимуме недоразумений.

Термины в этом документе сгруппированы по различным сферам деятельности с продукцией:

  • производство,
  • отбор образцов и испытания,
  • свойства продукции и
  • различные виды несоответствия требований по качеству, то есть, проще говоря, брака.

Все эти термины включены в один документ, и поисковые системы Интернета  легко находят в нем каждый термин отдельно.

Европейские стандарты на алюминиевую продукцию – это, в основном, стандарты на продукцию общего назначения. Существуют еще стандарты на специальную алюминиевую продукцию, например, упаковка в пищевой промышленности или сосуды под давлением.

Алюминиевая продукция общего назначения обычно имеет форму листа, плиты, фольги, прутка/стержня, трубы, профиля или проволоки. Для каждой из этих форм выпущены европейские стандарты «общего назначения» и каждый из них состоит из нескольких частей, например:

Структура стандарта на алюминиевую продукцию

Часть 1 каждого стандарта содержит технические условия контроля и поставки, которые указывают:

  • какая информация должна быть включена в «форму заказа», то есть документ или комплект документов, который поставщик и заказчик согласовывают при заказе партии продукции;
  • каковы требования к продукции (включая ссылки на другие части стандартов);
  • как производитель должен изготавливать и испытывать продукцию;
  • как продукция должна отгружаться, и какая информация должна быть предоставлена заказчику;
  • как, в случае необходимости, будет происходить разрешение споров.

Часть 2 каждого стандарта определяет механические свойства соответствующих сплавов и состояний, а следующие части задают допуски на форму и размеры, а также в отдельных случаях – требования к дополнительным свойствам.

Заказчики, которым нужно небольшое количество этих стандартных изделий, покупают их у оптовиков. Оптовики заказывают продукцию непосредственно у изготовителя согласно соответствующим европейским стандартам. Путем должного контроля технологии и организации производства, а также необходимого объема испытаний продукции, изготовитель создает уверенность, что свойства изделий находятся в соответствии с требованиями соответствующих стандартов. Заказчики, которым эти стандартные изделия нужны в больших количествах, покупают их прямо у изготовителя.

Иногда требования некоторых заказчиков к алюминиевой продукции являются более жесткими, чем те, которые прописаны в европейских стандартах. Они также могут быть дополнительными требованиями, которые ужесточают условия стандартов. В таких случаях обычно заказывают продукцию согласно европейским стандартам, но включают дополнительные требования в контракт или заказ. В большинстве случаев такие специальные требования относятся к ограниченному количеству свойств и испытаний. В этом случае ссылка на определенный европейский стандарт означает, что для всех свойств, методов испытаний и условий поставки, которые не указаны в специальных требованиях контракта или заказа, действуют требования этого стандарта.

Особые требования к алюминиевой продукции

Специальное применение

Специальные требования к алюминиевой продукции относятся обычно к продукции специального же применения. Поэтому для этих применений создана специальная группа европейских стандартов:

  • для пищевого алюминия,
  • для сосудов под давлением,
  • для железнодорожных вагонов,
  • для морского судостроения,
  • для электротехнической продукции,
  • для упаковки и
  • для несущих строительных конструкций.

Специальные алюминиевые сплавы

В этих стандартах рекомендуются специальные сплавы для соответствующих приложений, а также устанавливаются дополнительные или более строгие требования по механическим свойствам, допускам на размеры и другим свойствам.

Во многих случаях стандарт для специальной продукции позволяет унифицировать дополнительные требования, которые необходимы для этого вида продукции. Это позволяет снизить стоимость изготовления и испытания этой продукции.

Это является решением и ответственностью заказчика: по какому стандарту заказывать алюминиевую продукцию для специального применения – по европейскому стандарту общего назначения (может быть с дополнительными требованиями) или по европейскому стандарту специального назначения.

Стандарты для продукции специального назначения обычно разрабатывают крупные потребители и отраслевые ассоциации.

Примерами стандартов специального назначения могут служить следующие:

  • EN 15006 на алюминиевые баллоны для аэрозолей;
  • EN 2070 на деформируемые алюминиевые сплавы для аэрокосмической промышленности;
  • EN 286-4 на алюминиевые сосуды под давлением.

Европейский стандарт плюс контракт

Например, заказчик хочет заказать лист с более жесткими допусками, чем указано в европейском стандарте. Он может указать эти специальные требования в своем заказе и, тем не менее, должен сослаться на европейский стандарт на алюминиевые листы — EN 485-1. В этом случае требования этого стандарта по размерным допускам будут заменены более жесткими требованиями, которые указаны в заказе, а остальные требования остаются неизменными.

Однако, скорее всего, получить такую специальную продукцию в малых количествах у оптовика будет затруднительно. Если же этот специальный продукт заказывают у изготовителя, то он изготовит отдельную партию под эти специальные требования, что будет означать более высокие производственные затраты и, естественно, более высокую цену.

Алюминиевая продукция по техническим условиям

Для некоторой алюминиевой продукции, например, листа для кузовов автомобилей, существует только несколько поставщиков и заказчиков. В таких случаях часто применяются технические условия, согласованные между изготовителем и заказчиком, а европейские стандарты вообще не применяются.

European standartisation in the field of aluminium

CEN/TC 132 – ALUMINIUM AND ALUMINIUM ALLOYS

Standardization in the field of unwrought, wrought and cast products made from aluminium and aluminium alloys, particularly: – designations; – terms and definitions; – material specifications; – technical conditions of delivery; – dimensions and tolerances; – methods of testing specific to aluminium.

 Sub-Committee

  • CEN/TC 132/WG 1 – Liquid metal, unalloyed and alloyed ingots
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 10 – Castings
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 11 – Slugs for impact extrusion
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 12 – Electro welded tubes
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 14 – General support
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 15 – Aluminium anodisation
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 16 – Aluminium alloys for marine applications (shipbuilding, marine and offshore structure)
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 17 – Chemical analysis
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 18 – Terminology
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 19 – Corrosion
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 2 – Extrusion billets and rolling ingots
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 20 – Scrap
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 21 – Railways applications of aluminium and aluminium alloys
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 22 – Revision of EN 1559-4:1999
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 23 – Revision of EN 1676 and EN 1706
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 3 – Forgings and wrought and cast forging stock
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 4 – Wires and drawing stock
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 5 – Extruded and drawn products
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 6 – Aluminium foil and finstock
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 7 – Sheets, strips and plates
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 8 – Rolled products for cans, closures and lids
  • CEN/TC 132/WG 9 – Aluminium and aluminium alloys cast and wrought products in contact with food

Источники:

  1.  How to order aluminium products according to EN standards  – GDA/EAA-Guide – 2008
  2.  GAG Guidance Document 001 “Terms and Definition”